USA logoAn Official Website of the United States Government

General

You are here

Becoming a FAST-41 Covered Project

To become a covered project under FAST-41, infrastructure projects must meet certain criteria. See this “Quick Guide: Does My Project Qualify as a FAST-41 Covered Project?”

FAST-41 Initiation Notice Instructions

To become a covered project under FAST-41, project sponsors need to submit a FAST-41 Initiation Notice (FIN) with information described in the FAST Act.  An online FIN submission tool is under development in accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act.  In the interim, interested project sponsors for new potential covered projects should submit the following information:

  • Project Information: Title, Sector, Type, Location;
  • Project Sponsor Name and Contact Information;
  • Statement of the purposes and objectives of the project;
  • Concise description including general location and/or a summary of geospatial information, if available, and the locations, if any, of environmental, cultural, and historic resources;
  • Statement regarding the technical and financial ability of the project sponsor to construct the proposed project;
  • Statement of any Federal Financing, environmental reviews, and authorizations anticipated to be required; and
  • Assessment that the project meets the definition of a covered project as defined in 42 U.S.C. §4370m(6)(A) of the FAST Act and a statement of reasons supporting the assessment.

The FIN should be emailed to both the FPISC Executive Director and the appropriate facilitating agency.  The email address for the Executive Director and facilitating agencies can be found below.

FPISC Executive Director Email: FAST.FortyOne@fpisc.gov

AgencyFAST-41 Initiation Notice Email Address
USDAFAST-41initiation@RD.usda.gov
USACETom Smith, CERPO Thomas.P.Smith@usace.army.mil
Meg Gaffney-Smith                      Meg.E.Gaffney-Smith@usace.army.mil
DOC/NOAAFAST41initiation@noaa.gov
DOIFAST41initiation@ios.doi.gov
DOEFAST41Initiation@hq.doe.gov
DOTFinch Fulton, CERPO        Finch.Fulton@dot.gov
DODRon Tickle, CERPO
EPARobert Tomiak, Acting CERPO      tomiak.robert@epa.gov
FERCHeather Campbell, CERPO      Heather.E.Campbell@ferc.gov
NRCFrank Akstulewicz         Frank.Akstulewicz@nrc.gov
DHSOCAO-SustainabilityReports@hq.dhs.gov
DHS/USCGHQS-SMB-CG-BRG@uscg.mil
HUDDanielle L. Schopp, CERPO           Danielle.L.Schopp@hud.gov
ACHPReid J. Nelson, CERPO            rnelson@achp.gov

To determine the appropriate facilitating agency for a FIN, please see the attached table that establishes the various project types within each sector and assigns a facilitating agency to each type. 

Updated: Tuesday, July 25, 2017
Submit Feedback >